Our fate was sealed long before November 8 (and not because the election’s rigged)

Excellent website. I’ve always known about the divide but it was very heart-wrenching to read. I’ve had a near and dear family friend deny love for 25 years due to her family’s fear about this mentality. His name was Chuck; I fell instantly in love at the age of 8 when I met him. He played the xylophone. Years later at her parent’s 50th wedding anniversary, I asked my friend about Chuck and what happened to him. My friend immediately burst into tears. I learned later that day when my friend had calmed down that Chuck had just been admitted to the hospital because he was dying of cancer. I also learned he and my friend remained friends after they broke up and he would occasionally drop by to care of my friend when she fell ill. I felt so bad because I knew at the age of 8 that Chuck was special. I’d forgotten his name until that weekend when I asked what happened to him. Sadly, I learned all kinds of things that weekend but most of all I learned how much Chuck meant to my friend. Click here to read what my friend describes as “A must-read essay on the growth of white supremacist violence, and how the media is fueling it.”

Leave a Reply

