Losing My Privilege

This article sounds like it could be written for someone surviving abuse or assault where it states “you don’t know what you will really do until you are tested in the moment of truth” like those fighting Ghomeshi. How true. Click here to read the full article or an excerpt below.

 

If Trump becomes President and there is evidence that our worst fears are being realized I’m not sure what my husband and I will do. Thinking about it is like pondering what I would have done if I were living in Berlin in 1936. I would really like to think that I would have stayed, would have tried to fight for what is right and would have eventually hidden my Jewish neighbors in my attic. That is not what most people did, the overwhelming majority got out when they could and those that couldn’t stayed alive by being informants for the SS. The desire to simply stay alive at any cost is hard wired in all of us. It takes a lot to step outside of it. I’m not sure I’m as brave as I would like to believe I am. That’s the thing about bravery, you don’t know what you will really do until you are tested in the moment of truth.

Leave a Reply

