Things I have learned…

August 26, 2009

Bounce Dryer Sheets – Wasps & Mosquitos

Bounce does a lot more than remove static cling. My family was out for fish and chips today at a boathouse restaurant. We had a great meal and while we were eating, we noticed Bounce Dryer Sheets tacked up on the centre post at our table. We were told they are there to keep the wasps away. Boy did they work!

I got home and researched what else they do and this is what I found:

1. All this time you’ve just been putting Bounce in the dryer! It will chase ants away when you lay a sheet near them. It also repels mice.

2. Put Bounce around foundation areas, or in trailers, or cars that are parked for a time. Will keep mice from getting in.

3. It takes the odor out of books and photo albums that don’t get opened too often.

4. It repels mosquitoes! Tie a sheet of Bounce through a belt loop when outdoors during mosquito season.

5. Eliminate static electricity from your television (or computer) screen.

6. Since Bounce is designed to help eliminate static cling, wipe your television screen with a used sheet of Bounce to keep dust from resettling.

7. Dissolve soap scum from shower doors. Clean with a sheet of Bounce.

8. To freshen the air in your home – Place an individual sheet of Bounce in a drawer or hang in the closet.

9. Put Bounce sheet in vacuum cleaner.

10. Prevent thread from tangling. Run a threaded needle through a sheet of Bounce before beginning to sew.

11. Prevent musty suitcases. Place an individual sheet of bounce inside empty luggage before storing.

12. To freshen the air in your car – Place a sheet of Bounce under the front seat.

13. Clean baked-on foods from a cooking pan. Put a sheet in a pan, fill with water, let sit overnight, and sponge clean. The anti-static agent apparently weakens the bond between the food and the pan.

14. Eliminate odors in wastebaskets. Place a sheet of Bounce at the bottom of the wastebasket.

15. Collect cat hair. Rubbing the area with a sheet of Bounce will
magnetically attract all the loose hairs.

16. Eliminate static electricity from Venetian blinds. Wipe the blinds with a sheet of Bounce to prevent dust from resettling.

17. Wipe up sawdust from drilling or sand papering. A used sheet of Bounce will collect sawdust like a tack cloth.

18. Eliminate odors in dirty laundry. Place an individual sheet of Bounce at the bottom of a laundry bag or hamper.

19. Deodorize shoes or sneakers. Place a sheet of Bounce in your shoes or sneakers overnight.

20. Golfers put a Bounce sheet! In their back pocket to keep the bees away.

21. Put a Bounce sheet in your sleeping bag and tent before folding and storing them. It will keep them smelling fresh.

22. Pack a sheet in with summer/winter clothes when putting them away.

23. Put bay leaves in your cabinets to rid your house of ants. Just put one where the ants are and they will leave.

24. Horse and buggy drives take a dryer sheet and rub it on their arms and face, to repel mosquitoes.

5 Comments »

  1. I have put bounce right beside a wasp nest and they still kept flying in and out.

    Yesterday, I was holding a sheet of bounce in my hand while I was gardening and a mosquito bit that hand.

    So, I don’t believe it works.

    Comment by Annale Wanyj — September 12, 2009 @ 10:46 am | Reply

    • Hi,

      I was just wondering if the Bounce dryer sheets that you used for wasps and mosquitos was a new scent or the originally scented Bounce dryer sheet.

      They have so many different scents now, I wonder if some of them actually attract insects.

      Comment by Sharon — April 23, 2011 @ 7:59 pm | Reply

  2. Hi there :) Thak you for writing back. I wasn’t sure if I would hear back

    because you’re original post was in 2009. I will try the bounce sheets and

    let you know how it goes…I just got rid of a nest, but last summer they

    still came around once in a while even without a nest as far as I know,so it

    would be nice to deter them. It would e nice to not have to get up and run

    into the house when I’m relaxing in the backyard!

    just fyi — I have read about peppermint oil being a good deterrent for

    wasps and for killing them and their nests too. (I would rather deter them

    though…:)and lemon eucalyptus oil and other essential oils make great

    mosquito repellants (lemon oil works for me…I just dot it on my wrists,

    neck top of hairline and rub it in and mosquitos all around me don’t touch

    me! I gues I should put it around my ankles and on my clothes too. It’s

    possible citronella repels wasps too, but I’m not sure about that yet. I’ve

    been reading for hours about repellants and I’ve only read once or twice

    that citronella also deters wasps…but I’m not convinced yet :)

    Anyway, thanks again and I will get back to you as soon as I have the

    results.

    Sharon

    Comment by Sharon — April 24, 2011 @ 1:26 pm | Reply

  3. Ever wonder if the reporting of these miracle results of Bounce were salted by the manufacturers of said product? Those sheets stink to high heaven and give off unimaginable gases. This post reinforces this idea. Many people are now super-sensitized to these kinds of chemical treatments. Use these products at your own peril.

    Trying to disuade wasps from joining your picnic is a worthwhile endevour but wasp traps made of inverted pop bottles and soft drinks may be a better solution to a local problem then plastering chemical deterents about in your immediate environment. Wasps are benificial insects. They are carnivors and eat many pounds of garden pests every day.

    Comment by gragor — August 13, 2012 @ 11:14 am | Reply

    • Thanks for commenting and your suggestion.

      Comment by Mama Bear — August 13, 2012 @ 1:00 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme. Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 232 other followers

